Cranberry Ginger Green Smoothie

Green smoothies are a staple in our house. I have had one every morning for the past 6+ years. I have a basic recipe I follow (water, greens, fruit), but it changes slightly through out the year, depending on what fruits are in season etc.

2016-12-03-09-04-33

After Thanksgiving I had half a bag of cranberries leftover that I decided to freeze, not sure what I was going to do with them, and then when I went to make my green smoothie that morning, I pulled open the freezer drawer to grab some frozen fruit and there they were, just waiting to be used. I also cut up fresh ginger root, into small maybe 1/8 inch slices, and freeze those as well. Be sure to keep them in a ‘freezer’ ziploc bag. I’ve had trouble with freeze burned foods when I try to freeze them in normal sandwich bags.

2016-12-03-08-54-22

Start with your water and greens, and blend them in a high power blender until smooth. Then add in your fruit. I use about 10 cranberries which is around 1/4 cup. And here’s my half a lemon with the peel cut off, and my slice of ginger. In the recipe I put the lemon as optional, and that’s because it tastes great with or without, I just love using it because lemons are so alkaline and a great cleanser, but it’s okay if you don’t use it. Blend everything until it’s smooth, which is two, 50-second cycles on my Blendtec.

2016-12-03-08-55-39

I love this Pioneer Woman mason jar I got at Walmart last year. I use it every day. I love the handle because I often drink this smoothie as I’m driving kids to school in the morning and it’s nice to have something to hold onto to…less spills for me this way :). Enjoy!

2016-12-03-09-03-47

THE RECIPE:

Cranberry Ginger Green Smoothie (vegan, gf)

*makes about 40 oz

12 oz cold water
2 handfuls power greens (mixture of spinach, kale and chard. Can do just spinach)
1 stalk celery, cut in half
optional: 1 small handful parsley (parsley removes toxins and metals from your body; great cleanser)
optional: 1/2 lemon, peel cut off (another great cleanser and very alkaline)
1 apple, cored
1 banana, peeled
10 frozen cranberries (about 1/4 cup)
1/8” thick slice of ginger (fresh or frozen)
1 c frozen strawberries
1 c frozen pineapple (or frozen blueberries)

Pour water into high power blender. Add in greens and blend until smooth. Add remaining ingredients and blend until smooth (My Blendtec gets to the consistency that I like in  two, 50 second cycles).

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Smoothies, vegan

Leave a Reply

