Caramel Corn

I’ll admit, I have a bit of a sweet tooth. I always have. As I’ve gotten older I’ve learned some self discipline and will allow myself a treat or two during the week, but even then, sometimes I go a little overboard with my treat and I may have a couple of helpings (like the snickerdoodles we made last week…I think I ate six in one day). And that definitely happens when I make caramel or peanut butter popcorn. I think I end up eating half of it myself and who knows, I might even be able to polish off an entire thing, but because I have to share it with so many people, I haven’t been able to test out that theory :); and that’s a good thing. It’s a good thing we have so many family members because it requires me to share :).

2016-09-09-18-29-40

These are the ingredients: air popped popcorn, coconut sugar, brown rice syrup, butter, salt and baking soda.

2016-09-10-13-33-18

Combine butter, coconut sugar, syrup and salt in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil and allow to boil for 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. I watch this pretty closely because I do not want this cooking too long because I like my caramel corn to be more like a sticky caramel coating, not the hard, crunchy kind.

2016-09-10-13-41-45

Remove from heat and stir in baking soda. Immediately pour over your popped popcorn in a large mixing bowl, and stir together. Allow it to cool for a minute before you give it a try so it doesn’t burn your mouth.

2016-09-09-18-29-31

Caramel Corn
serves 6-8

1/2 c kernels, popped and set aside in a large mixing bowl
1/2 c butter
1/2 c coconut sugar
1/4 c brown rice syrup
1/8 tsp sea salt
1/8 tsp baking soda

Combine butter, coconut sugar, syrup and salt in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil and allow to boil for 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat and stir in baking soda. Pour over popped popcorn in a large mixing bowl and stir to combine.

*this is not a hard and crunchy caramel corn.

2 Comments

Filed under Desserts

2 responses to “Caramel Corn

  1. heidapong

    Hey Elisa,

    Could the caramel be used as a dipping sauce? Or for apples?

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

