Healthier Options for Packaged Foods

This post is a little different from most, there’s no recipe, but instead I’m going to share a few foods you can buy at the store that are better for you than most. I’ve shared others in the past, so this is just adding to some of those other favorites (like Ak Mak crackers, rice cakes, triscuits, Lara Bars, Naked Juice when I’m traveling without my blendtec and need a green smoothie etc).

Our four oldest kids went back to school this week so it’s just me and the baby left at home all day(and by baby I mean she’s 4, but still our baby), which means it shouldn’t be as hard to get a post on here each week, like it was in the Summer when we are all home working and playing together! But I did it; I kept this up even though it was challenging, yay for me! The summer flew by and we made lots of memories: with family, on trips, camps, at the pool and with friends. Our oldest daughter who is 12, did her first mini triathlon this summer, with me and Scott (hubby/daddy). I placed third for women which was rewarding :).  And our 10 year old son ran his first 5k race! These races don’t just all happen on one day, but they were training several days a week with me or Scott for months, which gave us some special time together. We encourage our children to be active each day through our words and example and we hope they will continue to do that throughout their lives. We remind them regularly that the foods we eat (and how we sleep) directly affect our level of activity, so we need to put good fuel in our body and not junk foods that are not nutritious like white flours/sugars, fried foods, processed meats, etc so that we can perform to our best abilities. They have experienced this for themselves and know it to be true, but reminders are good :).

2016-08-13 09.02.53

This, by the way, is one of my favorite snacks to have during a long run (longer than an hour):

2016-04-02 11.09.48

My sister-in-law, who is an amazing runner, introduced me to these last year. They sell these waffles gluten-free or not, I get both, and the ingredients list is mostly organic and whole grains, though their is a little cane sugar. They have all different flavors and I’ve loved each one so far. This is so tasty that I actually look forward to my long runs just because I know I’ll get to eat this part way through :). I have found these at running stores, on amazon, at Sierra Trading Post and health food stores by the power/granola bars. The cheapest I’ve found them is $1/each(at Sierra Trading Post), and they go up to around $1.50.

The week before school got out my Mom and brother came for a visit from Washington and New York, and we attended BYU education week together which was awesome. My mom shared a couple of foods with me that I loved and am passing along to you! These Mariani Honey Bars are made with all whole foods, nuts, fruit and honey and that’s it! No preservatives or refined sugar. My mom found them at Safeway in Washington but so far I haven’t been able to find them locally, but you can order them on amazon here. They run about $1.60/bar on amazon, which is about right for this healthier type of granola bar, and honestly, besides Lara Bars, there’s not much else out there that is this natural. And I personally like the taste of these more than Lara Bars, and my kids definitely do, too! The kids favorite flavors were Sweet and Salty and Granola. I liked all of them.

2016-08-14 12.17.19

We found these Van’s Simply Delicious waffles at Walmart (also at Sprouts and other whole foods stores), and they make them gluten-free or not. They have a couple choices that are sweetened with 100% fruit juice which I think is great! It will state it right on the front of the box if that’s the case, like the box below, otherwise they’ve got some added sugar. Our Sprouts had them on sale, buy 1 box, get 1 free, so we got a few :).

2016-08-23 11.21.14

These really are ‘simply delicious’! Notice I topped mine with a little peanut butter, pure maple syrup and fresh strawberries! So yummy!

2016-08-23 11.22.15

So if you don’t have time, like I sometimes don’t, and can’t make your granola bars or waffles from scratch, these will be great options for you. Have a wonderful day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Snacks/Sides/Appetizers

Leave a Reply

