Almond Butter and Apple Rice Cakes

My kids are on week 2 of summer break and we are loving all of our free, non-scheduled time. We have a couple of things still going, like piano is year-round for our 4 oldest kids, and our ten year old son is doing flag football, plus we have a couple vacations planned, family visiting, cub scout camp, girls camp, swimming lessons later in the summer and our move (just locally, but still, a move is a move and it’s a big deal when you’re packing up and moving 7 human beings). After writing that out, it doesn’t sound very unscheduled anymore but it still feels better when you don’t have school on weekdays. We are currently visiting Bryce and Grand Canyon, doing some hiking and camping in a tipi :). Aren’t I good for posting this while I’m on vacation?! No, I don’t bring my computer on vacations, I actually wrote this post last week and scheduled it to post today, which is something I do when we have a lot going on, which seems like always :). Anyway, let’s get onto our recipe for the day which is a super fast, simple and nutritious snack food that I love and eat regularly.

2016-06-15 18.55.32

Plain rice cakes, the ones where the only ingredient listed is, ‘whole grain brown rice’, are one of those foods that I always have on hand. You can buy a pack for $2-$3 and it comes with 14 cakes which is pretty inexpensive.

I like to cover my rice cake with a tablespoon of almond butter (my kids use peanut butter) and then top it with either some carob chips or very thin apple slices, which is something my little sister recently taught me(and I’ve heard banana slices are good too). I love the salty/sweet combination along with the crunchy rice cake. I often have this for a late afternoon snack, or in the morning if I’m going for a long run (more than 6 miles…otherwise I just drink water and make my green smoothie when I get home). I’ve even started making my own almond butter since I got my new Blendtec Twister jar, and it’s super easy and fast. It literally take less than 1 minute to make your own nut butter and that time includes getting the nuts out and grinding them up. But I’ll save that recipe for another post :). I hope you enjoy this fast, simple, and tasty snack!

2016-06-15 18.55.46

THE RECIPE:

Almond Butter and Apple Rice Cakes
*serves 1

1 brown rice cake
1 Tbsp almond butter (or peanut butter)
4 thin apple slices

Spread 1 Tbsp almond butter on a rice cake and top with 4, thin apple slices. Enjoy!

*this is a great snack or pre/post -workout food; I eat this before a long run

2 Comments

Filed under gluten-free, Snacks/Sides/Appetizers, vegan

2 responses to “Almond Butter and Apple Rice Cakes

  1. this sounds like the perfect snack!

  2. Pingback: Daily Food Journal: 7 days | Real Foods Mom

Leave a Reply

