Roasted Beets

I eat a lot of salads in the summer but they can get boring after awhile if you don’t mix things up. Roasted, sliced beets make for a nice addition. Roasting the beets is super simple: just cover in tinfoil and bake in a hot oven for about an hour. Once that’s done, slip the skins off and slice the beets into quarters and then slice those quarters thin and throw them on any green salad. I like to pair my beet salad with a vinaigrette, poppy seed  or sweet/fruit dressing along with some sunflower seeds and sliced onion. By the way, beets will make your hands dark pink, along with everything you’re using to prepare them with (cutting board, knife etc), so handle them with care and try not to get it on your clothes.

2016-04-06 09.46.06

Roasted Beets

2 medium beets
tin foil

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Wrap the beets in foil and roast for 40-60 minutes or until you can pierce them easily with a fork. Allow the beets to cool a little and then slip off the skins and slice the beets into quarters and then into thinner slices if you like.

I love to add these to all different salads. One of my favorites is romaine lettuce and spinach, sunflower seeds, sliced red onion with these beet slices and a fruity or vinagrette dressing to top it off.

2 Comments

Filed under Salads, vegan, vegetarian

2 responses to “Roasted Beets

  1. Angela smith

    Thanks for the idea, Elisa! I’ve been juicing beets, but didn’t think about putting them in my salads. We’ve been following Joes Fuhrams Nutritarian lifestyle and he advocates a pound each of raw and cooked vegetables a day. I also made the sauerkraut that you taught me about and put that on my salad along with the artichokes from Costco you introduced me to. I include black beans and avacado along with raw sunflower seeds and/or walnuts. Can’t get Scott to go for the artichokes and sauerkraut, but he did try avacado. This is so cool. Chrome is so smart, I got a “card” letting me know that you posted in your blog. Can’t wait to visit and see the new house!

Leave a Reply

