Spicy Carrots

2015-03-20 11.48.42

 

While living in Colorado, I became good friends with an elderly woman from our church, who was originally from California. She could cook some really good Mexican food, and my dad was a chef from Mexico, so I know what I’m talking about :). One day when I picked her up so we could run errands, she handed me a little ziploc baggie of carrots and said they were “spicy carrots”, a California favorite, and a favorite snack of hers. I tried one and then ate another, and another, and I meant to save one for Scott to try, but when we got home they were all in my tummy, so I did the next best thing and described them to Scott, taste and texture, and then promised to make a batch some day. I got the recipe from my sweet friend and have made them a couple of times since and think they are a cold, spicy, and addicting snack!

I use baby carrots and cut them in half diagonally, like so:

2015-03-18 14.48.35

 

Then I bring a medium saucepan filled with water to a boil, add my carrots and cook them about 10 minutes, until tender but not soft and mushy.

2015-03-18 14.49.08

 

Next, I mix together jalapenos, water, vinegar, salt and oregano in a medium bowl or large glass measuring dish. Set that aside and drain the carrots and add them to the jalapeno mixture bowl.

2015-03-18 14.59.21

 

Cover and allow to sit int he fridge overnight, until carrots absorb some of the juices. Store in mason jars with lids in the fridge for up to a couple of weeks.

2015-03-18 15.06.20THE RECIPE:

Spicy Carrots

1 lb baby carrots, sliced diagonally
1 can(4 0z) diced jalapenos, with juice
2 c water
1 c vinegar
1 tsp dried Oregano
1 Tbsp sea salt

Boil carrots in medium saucepan for 10 minutes. In a medium bowl, mix together jalapenos, water, vinegar, salt and oregano. Drain carrots and add to the jalapeno mixture bowl. Cover and allow to sit int he fridge overnight, until carrots absorb some of the juices. Store in mason jars with lids in the fridge for up to a couple of weeks.

Leave a comment

Filed under Snacks/Sides/Appetizers

Leave a Reply

