Chicken and Cabbage Salad

I don’t like meat so I rarely eat it. Scott and most of the kids like meat so I still cook it about once a week, and it’s usually shredded or cubed chicken that is a part of something else like in enchiladas or burritos or salad. My aversion to meat started during one of my pregnancies, because I couldn’t stand the smell.  With each consecutive pregnancy, it got worse and I finally realized I just really don’t like meat.  The only time I’ll have some chicken is 1.) I’m at a friends and that’s what they’re serving so I’ll have a little with more of whatever else is being served and 2.) if it’s shredded and served in a chicken salad where the dressing will mask the flavor of the chicken, and even then, I’ll still pull a lot of the chicken out. This chicken salad recipe has a very yummy, homemade dressing and it has more plants in it than meat which I like.

2015-05-11 15.02.51

I’ve made this salad several different ways with mango and without, with jalapeno and without and they were all good. My favorite was with the mango and with just a little bit of jalapeno. If you don’t like spicy foods, you can leave the jalapeno out all together. Or, if you like just a little bit of spice, you could add 1/8 tsp of red pepper flakes to your dressing.

2015-05-11 14.38.46

For the dressing, I like to use plain yogurt rather than your typically used mayo. I also used an all fruit mango and pineapple jam, but any mango jam would work.

2015-05-11 14.43.05

 

You’ll want to chop, dice and shred all your salad ingredients and add them to a medium sized mixing bow. In a separate small bowl or in a liquid measuring dish, whisk together the ingredients for the dressing. Pour the dressing over the salad mixture and toss gently to combine. It’s best when it’s been refrigerated for at least 30 minutes. It’s also great as leftovers for several days.

 

2015-05-11 14.58.51

 

2015-05-09 13.15.57THE RECIPE:

Chicken and Cabbage Salad

1 c shredded cooked chicken
1 stalk diced celery
1/4 c sliced green onions
2 c thinly sliced cabbage
1  peeled and diced mango
1/4 c chopped fresh cilantro
1/4 c slivered almonds
optional: 1 Tbsp diced jalapeno (if you like these spicy)
optional: 1/4 c craisins

Dressing:
1/4 c mango jam (I use an all natural, no refined sugar added, mango and pineapple jam)
1/4 c plain yogurt (I like the fage brand)
1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar
1/8 tsp sea salt
Black pepper to taste, (I do 1-2 twists)

Combine chicken, celery, onions, cabbage, mango cilantro, almonds and craisins in a medium sized bowl. Whisk together the dressing in a small bowl or liquid glass measuring  dish. Add the dressing to the chicken mixture and gently combine. For best results, chill at least 30 minutes before serving. Can eat as is or serve on a croissant or roll.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner, Lunch, Salads

Leave a Reply

