Homemade Slow Cooker Chicken Stock

I like to buy the Costco Rotisserie chickens on occasion (which are hormone free). When I do, rather than throwing the carcass away once we’ve pulled off all the meat, just before bed I’ll stick the carcass in our slow cooker, add in some veggies, spices and water, and cook it on low, overnight. When we wake up in the morning, the house smells amazing and now we have several quarts of home made chicken stock!

2014-12-07 09.17.28

I know in the picture below, I’ve chopped up the celery pretty fine, but I never do that any more. There’s no need. It’s just for the flavor and you end up dumping the cooked veggies. So instead, using my end, I break the celery stalks into thirds and toss them in.

2014-11-26 13.21.10

These are the spices I use, but feel free to take some liberties here and add spices you love that would go well with the others, or you can leave some out that you don’t have on hand.

2014-11-26 13.23.04

Once the veggies and spices are in, I fill up the slow cooker with cool water, leaving about 1/2-1 inch headspace at the top. Put the lid on and let it cook on low overnight or 8-10 hours.

 2014-11-26 13.28.44

Once it’s done, turn off the heat and use a soup ladle to pass the stock through a fine sieve to remove all the solids. You can put the sieve right over your jars and ladle it straight in there or you can ladle it into a larger container first, like my large glass measuring dish, and then pour it into the jars. Either way it gets pretty messy so I usually do my ladling work over a rimmed baking sheet.

2014-11-26 22.03.06

The stock is amazingly flavorful and will go well in all your soups. I also use it in my enchilada sauce and when I’m making brown rice. It will keep well in the fridge for a couple of weeks, or you can freeze it for several months.

2014-11-26 22.10.57

THE RECIPE:

Homemade Slow Cooker Chicken Stock-
*makes about 16 c

Carcass from a small chicken (I use the Costco Rotisserie chicken carcass)
1 white or yellow onion, peeled and thickly sliced
2 celery stalks, cut in thirds
10 baby carrots
1 tsp parsley
1 tsp dried bay leaves
1 tsp Thyme
1 tsp sea salt
1 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp apple cider vinegar or vinegar
1/4 tsp turmeric

Place chicken carcass in large slow cooker. Add all other ingredients. Fill the slow cooker with water, leaving about a 1/2 inch head space at top. Cover and cook on low overnight or start in the morning on low and cook for 8-10 hours. When done, turn off heat and ladle the stock through a fine sieve to remove all the solids. Store in glass quart/pint jars. Refrigerate for two weeks or freeze for several months(I like to freeze mine in quart freezer bags because my glass jars always break in the freezer). Can dilute stock with water when using in recipes or use as is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Homemade Staples

Leave a Reply

