Homemade Whole Wheat Bread Crumbs

I have a couple of family favorite recipes that call for bread crumbs. Have you ever looked at the ingredient label for bread crumbs? There’s a whole bunch of extra added things that we really shouldn’t be putting into our bodies, and I always prefer whole wheat to white, so we like to make our own. This has become a staple in our house. You can make bread crumbs using your favorite whole wheat bread and I love that it uses up my end pieces!

2015-03-18 13.07.37

You don’t have to use end pieces, but I always do because my family doesn’t enjoy eating the end pieces in sandwiches and I don’t want them to go to waste. So I save my end pieces by freezing them either in their bag or a freezer ziploc bag, or if I already have some frozen end pieces in the freezer, I’ll just add more to it.

2015-03-18 11.45.47

Once I have 8+ pieces, I’ll pull them out of the freezer, put them on a cookie sheet and bake them in an oven preheated to 300 degrees for about 30-40 minutes until they’re dry and crispy but not burnt.

2015-03-18 12.32.36

Once they’re ready, I break them apart into fourths or smaller and stick them in my blender. I pulse the blender until they break up into smaller pieces.

2015-03-18 13.01.49

Sometimes a big piece will get in the way and trap the others from falling down toward the blade. When that happens, I just open up the lid, break some of the larger pieces down to smaller pieces, replace the lid and pulse again.

2015-03-18 13.03.09

After you pulse it multiple times and the bread is no longer getting trapped, hold down the pulse button and allow it to blend until you have crumbs, about 20 seconds.

2015-03-18 13.05.05

8-10 slices will make about 2 cups of whole wheat bread crumbs.

Whatever you don’t use within in the next several days, feel free to freeze them in a tupperware to be used another day. And you don’t need to let them thaw, just pull them out of the freezer and use.

2015-03-18 13.10.51

 

 

THE RECIPE:

Homemade Whole Wheat Bread Crumbs
*makes about 2 cups

8-10 slices whole wheat bread ends, frozen

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Place bread ends on a baking sheet, not overlapping, and bake for 30-40 minutes until the bread looks toasted (dry and browning). Break bread into fourths and place in high power blender or food processor and pulse about 10 times, until the bread has begun to break up and then hold down the pulse button until it’s all crumbs, and there aren’t any more chunks, about 20 seconds. Ready to use immediately in recipes, or you can store in pantry for several weeks or in freezer for up to a couple of months. We love to use bread crumbs on our chicken fingers (chicken nuggets/strips).

Leave a comment

Filed under Homemade Staples

Leave a Reply

