Cinnamon Swirl Whole Wheat Bread

2014-12-30 17.11.26

I love the smell of freshly baked bread; my kids do too and before even walking into the house, they can pick up the smell from the garage and it produces instant smiles :).

We go through about 6-7 loaves of bread in a week for our family of 7. I make bread once a week, and when I do, I make 4 regular, sandwich bread type of loaves,  of which I freeze half, and I make one cinnamon swirl loaf. I also have to supplement with 1-2 loaves of store-bought bread.  Once I cut into the cinnamon bread, I immediately put a piece away for my hubby to have once he’s home from work because if I don’t, he wouldn’t get any, it’s gone that fast!

My nine-year-old son loves to cook. Over the holiday break, he helped me make dinners, granola and bread. Here he is keeping an eye on our bread dough.

2014-12-30 13.26.50

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees. You won’t bake it at this temperature, but you’re warming your oven and will turn it off just before you stick your bread dough inside the oven to help the rising process. Take your favorite bread dough (my favorite recipe is here; it’ll make five loaves like I mentioned above), and roll it out so that it’s about the same width as the length of your bread pan. Then you’ll roll it into a long rectangle, the length of the dough being about 14 inches; if that doesn’t make sense, see the picture below…I roll out my dough right next to my pan so that I can use it as a guide.

2014-12-30 13.50.21

Next, you’ll slather on softened butter. I smear it over the entire loaf using a spoon; I probably use about 2 Tbsp worth of butter. Then sprinkle on your cinnamon, about 1/2 Tbsp, and drizzle it with honey.

2014-12-30 13.52.17

Take the end of the short side, and roll it up to the opposite end. Pinch the ends together so your filling doesn’t leak all over your pan and place it in a greased loaf pan. Allow it to rise in your warmed oven(which is now off) for 30 minutes, then, without opening the oven door, turn the oven on, to 325 degrees, and bake for 30 minutes until the top of the loaf is golden brown.

2014-12-30 13.53.02

2014-12-30 13.53.19

2014-11-12 11.48.09

Delicious! So soft and moist and fluffy! You can eat it right away or store it in an airtight container or plastic ziploc bag for later.

2014-11-12 12.48.18

2014-11-12 12.48.36

THE RECIPE:

Cinnamon Swirl Whole Wheat Bread

2 Tbsp butter
1/2 Tbsp ground cinnamon
honey (~1/4 c to drizzle)
whole wheat bread dough (my fav recipe here)

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees. You won’t bake it at this temperature, but you’re warming your oven and will turn it off just before you stick your bread dough inside the oven to help the rising process. Take your favorite bread dough (my favorite recipe is here; it’ll make five loaves, so feel free to cut it in half), and roll it out so that it’s about the same width as the length of your bread pan. Then you’ll roll it into a long rectangle, the length of the dough being about 14 inches. Slather on softened butter. I smear it over the entire loaf using a spoon; I probably use about 2 Tbsp worth of butter. Then sprinkle on your cinnamon, about 1/2 Tbsp, and drizzle it with honey. Take the end of the short side, and roll it up to the opposite end. Pinch the ends together so your filling doesn’t leak all over your pan and place it in a greased loaf pan. Allow it to rise in your warmed oven(which is now off) for 30 minutes, then, without opening the oven door, turn the oven on, to 325 degrees, and bake for 30 minutes until the top of the loaf is golden brown.

2 Comments

Filed under Breads

2 responses to “Cinnamon Swirl Whole Wheat Bread

  1. This looks delicious. One question: you say to use my favorite bread recipe. Mine makes four loaves. For this bread, do I use enough dough for one normal loaf? Or do I use the whole batch of dough for one loaf of the cinnamon bread?

    Thanks!

    • This recipe is just for one loaf but if you’re wanting to make more you can easily do so; just plan accordingly and be sure you have enough of the ingredients on hand to double/triple/quadruple 🙂

Leave a Reply

