Crockpot Chicken Stock

2014-12-07 09.17.28

Wow, it has been really chilly here in Denver for the past few days, since Christmas actually. Christmas morning it was lovely outside, I went for a run(after we did gifts and breakfast of course), we played soccer and football out back, and then the cold winds blew in snow later in the day. Since then, it’s been snowing off and on and freezing cold. Like, in the negatives. Though it really has only been getting in the negatives over night, during the day it’s more like 2 degrees which is way better ;). When it’s that cold outside, the only thing I feel like cooking and eating are warm foods. Last night we had Enchiladas with Rice (used my stock for the liquid in the rice) and Black Beans. The night before was Black Bean Soup (used my stock in this as well). Making soups for our family of 7 requires a good amount of stock/broth, so I love that I can take my leftover carcass from the rotisserie chicken I get from Costco, through it in the crock pot over night with some roughly chopped veggies and herbs, and in the morning I have enough stock for several soups! And the house smells amazing!

Start off by placing your leftover chicken carcass in your crock pot , including bones and skin. Add your roughly chopped onion, carrot, celery, herbs and spices.

2014-11-26 13.21.10

2014-11-26 13.23.04

Fill the crock pot with water, leaving about a 1/2-inch of head space.  Cover and turn the crock pot on low and cook overnight, or you can start it in the morning and cook on low for 8-10 hours.

2014-11-26 13.28.44

When the stock is done, turn off the heat and using a ladle, pass your stock through a fine sieve to remove all of the solids. I ladle the stock into the large pyrex glass measuring dish pictured below, before pouring it into my jars because it’s less messy for me this way, but if you’re more careful than I am, you can ladle it right into your wide mouth jars while using the sieve.

You can refrigerate your stock up to 2 weeks, or freeze up to 6 months. I freeze mine in Quart Freezer Ziploc bags because I’ve had too  many glass jars break in my freezer which makes me a little angry; I hate wasting my precious free time… and throwing away food/broth. So I just don’t go there anymore. And actually, with a family of 7, I usually use all of it within two weeks so I generally store it all in the fridge in my jars. I get about 12 cups of broth/stock from this recipe.

2014-11-26 22.10.57

THE RECIPE:

Crock Pot Chicken Stock– makes about 12 c

Leftover bones/carcass from a small or medium chicken (I use leftover carcass from Costco’s rotisserie chicken)
1 c celery(2 stalks), roughly chopped
1 c carrots, roughly chopped
1 c onion, roughly chopped
1 tsp each of  parsley, bay leaves, Thyme, salt, garlic and apple cider vinegar
1/4 tsp turmeric (optional)

Place your  leftover chicken carcass in your crock pot , including bones and skin. Add your roughly chopped onion, carrot, celery, herbs and spices. Fill the crock pot with water, leaving about a 1/2-inch of head space.  Cover and turn the crock pot on low and cook overnight, or you can start it in the morning and cook on low for 8-10 hours.

When the stock is done, turn off the heat and using a ladle, pass your stock through a fine sieve to remove all of the solids.You can refrigerate your stock up to 2 weeks(I store in Mason jars), or freeze up to 6 months(I freeze in Quart Ziploc bags). I get about 12 cups of broth/stock from this recipe.

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner

One response to “Crockpot Chicken Stock

  1. Pingback: Chicken Noodle Soup (with whole wheat noodles!) | Real Foods Mom

Leave a Reply

