Alfredo Sauce

Christmas is in a week! We are so excited! My kids are especially looking forward to eating our traditional whole grain cinnamon rolls Christmas morning; and so am I!

IMG_7341

Even though they’re whole grain, only made with whole wheat and spelt flour, no white, they are not healthy. I mean, look at that cream cheese frosting oozing down the side. Heavenly! I can’t wait! And I LOVE that I can make them ahead, the day before, and stick them in the fridge, both dough and frosting. Then Christmas morning, I pull them out of the fridge, set the dough rolls on my oven and turn it on to preheat, we start with our stockings and move onto our gifts and before we’re done, we have fresh, warm, made-from-scratch cinnamon rolls waiting to be eaten!

I haven’t decided on the menu for Christmas Eve yet, but it’ll probably either be Mexican or Italian. Both of those cultures are a huge part of our heritage an we LOVE the food so they usually win over. We may even serve this Alfredo Sauce over a pasta since it’s a favorite.

2014-11-24 19.40.14

This is one of my go-to recipes. We always have the ingredients on hand and  we make it almost weekly because all my kids love it. We serve it with a variety of pasta shapes, and I use either all whole wheat pasta, or half wheat, half white. I make this sauce while I’m waiting for my water to come to a boil, before adding in my pasta. Many times I’ll  add a bag of frozen peas to my boiling pasta. Peas are especially nice when used with the small or medium shelled pasta shape because the peas hide inside of the shells and the kids don’t notice them as much :). We also like to add cooked, shredded chicken sometimes(Costco sells a great rotisserie chicken; we also like to boil frozen chicken and shred it with two forks), and we’ll usually serve this pasta with salad and garlic bread sticks or some other type of bread.

THE RECIPE:

Alfredo Sauce
~makes enough to cover one 16oz bag of pasta

1 stick butter
8 oz cream cheese
6 oz parmesan cheese
2 c whole milk (can sub cream or half and half)
1 tsp minced garlic
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp pepper (a few turns)
optional: cooked, shredded chicken
optional: peas

Melt butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add cream cheese and stir until it melts down. Add parmesan cheese, milk, garlic, salt and pepper and bring to a boil. Turn the heat down and simmer for 10-15 minutes until thickened, stirring with whisk occasionally. Pour over cooked pasta and serve immediately (can cover with foil and serve within 15 minutes).

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner

One response to “Alfredo Sauce

  1. Pingback: Top Ten, Family Favorite, Whole Food Recipes | Real Foods Mom

Leave a Reply

