Chicken Fingers

Years ago, when I was a student at BYU, I shared an apartment with five amazing women, seriously, I couldn’t have hand-picked better roommates and none of us knew each other going into it, most of us were from different states. I don’t believe in coincidences but I do believe in a loving and caring Heavenly Father. It was living in the apartments with these wonderful ladies, that I got more experience cooking. We each had a night a week where we were in charge of dinner; one of the best ways to learn is just to jump right in and that’s what I did. My brother, who is two years older than me, lived in the same apartment complex with 5 guys, and he, being a smart young man, joined our cooking group by partnering up with me :). Smart because it meant he got home cooked food 6 nights a week and because he was surrounded by lovely women each night :). Fred, that’s my brother, doesn’t really cook a whole lot so he mostly just paid for half the ingredients, which was very helpful since we’re all poor college students, and I would cook. He helped  a little, but mostly he used that time in our apartment each evening to visit with my cute roomies :). Because we lived and ate together for quite some time, we became familiar with each others family recipes. Homemade chicken fingers were one of those recipes, though I’ve changed the recipe over the years, making it faster and easier and a little more healthy.

2014-12-03 18.13.23

 Start out by cutting your defrosted chicken into strips. If I remember to pull my frozen chicken out of the freezer in the morning, then we’re all set to slice it up, if not, just stick your frozen chicken in the microwave and hit the defrost button for about 1 lb of chicken(unless you’re doubling this recipe, then of course, do more).

2014-12-03 17.38.53

Next I put the chicken in a gallon ziploc bag, add in my yogurt, rub it all over the chicken, dump the whole wheat crumbs inside and shake and massage until the chicken is pretty evenly covered.

2014-12-03 17.42.05

Place crumb coated chicken on a baking sheet (lined with parchment for a quicker clean up) and bake at 425 degrees for about 15 minutes, until chicken is no longer pink.

2014-12-03 17.47.56

2014-12-03 18.09.45

We like to eat ours over rice, potatoes, salad, or just plain with a little ketchup and a side of sweet potato fries :).

2014-12-03 18.13.23

THE RECIPE: 

10 boneless, skinless chicken tenders, sliced into strips (or 3-4 breasts cut into small strips)
1/2 c plain Greek yogurt
1 1/2 c dry whole wheat bread crumbs *

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Place chicken in gallon ziploc bag. Add yogurt, seal and squeeze to blend. Add bread crumbs, seal and squeeze bag to coat chicken. Bake 15 minutes until chicken, when cut in middle, is white and done.

*Make 1 1/2-2 c of  your own bread crumbs by baking 4 whole wheat bread slices, in 300 degree oven for about 20 minutes until dry and darker in color, but not burnt. Once cool, place dried bread in a blender or food processor and pulse until you have fine crumbs. (I use my high-power Blendtec, but have also made them with my food processor. Discard any really large chunks.)

2 Comments

Filed under Dinner

2 responses to “Chicken Fingers

  1. Pingback: St Patricks’s Day: Irish Soda Bread | Real Foods Mom

  2. Pingback: Homemade Whole Wheat Bread Crumbs | Real Foods Mom

Leave a Reply

