Granola

IMG_1853

This granola is crunchy and has so many clusters, I love it! I learned a couple of new tricks recently that can make just about any granola recipe crunchy and filled with flusters which I’ll share in the recipe below! I love granola. My family loves granola. I love that I can have a small bowl of granola and fill satisfied because of the high nutrition content. It’s full of nuts, oats, and seeds. Oats give you that satiated feeling, nuts are high in protein and good fats and flax is high in fiber and the omega-3 essential fatty acids. I use raw, local honey in this recipe. Raw honey contains vitamins, minerals and antioxidants. Raw, local honey seems to help both my husband and I with our seasonal allergies which makes sense since it’s coming from bees that are local and the honey will have some particles of pollen from local plants. This granola is so yummy by itself as a snack, or with a little milk, or, my personal favorite, with some plain greek yogurt and a little agave, and sometimes I’ll throw in a few blueberries! I know this recipe is large, but we have seven family members, and most of us eat it either every morning for breakfast or as a snack.  We go through this amount in about 7-10 days. You can easily halve this recipe if you’re single or have a smaller family. It’ll stay fresh for a week on the pantry shelf or a couple of weeks in the fridge. Alright, let’s get started! 

Preheat your oven to 250 degrees. Line two large jelly rolls pans (cookie sheet with edges), or a roaster pan, with parchment paper. It is important that you line with parchment because we do not stir the granola part way through cooking, because this will allow clusters to form. We also cook it for a long time which means if you skip the parchment, your granola will most likely stick to the pan and the edges will burn. Once they are lined, set them aside.

In a small saucepan over low-medium heat, warm up oil, honey, vanilla and pure maple syrup. You don’t need to watch it carefully, unless you turn the heat higher than what I’ve mentioned, and you don’t need to stir it much, we’re just wanting to melt all the liquids together.  IMG_1812 IMG_1814 Get all your dry ingredients out. I buy some of my nuts prechopped for convenience but if they’re not, you’ll want to chop up your nuts and seeds. I buy my nuts from Costco, and a lot of the other ingredients from this recipe you can get from Costco as well like the flax, coconut oil, honey, syrup, cinnamon, and vanilla(salt is pictured below because I used to put it in, but it’s totally not necessary and I never use it anymore). IMG_1813 I used my high power blender to chop my nuts and seeds more when we had a baby in the house who ate granola because it chops it pretty fine, and very fast. Now, I mostly use my pampered chef chopper. When using my blender, I pulse it about 2 or three times(just for a second each), shake it, and then pulse it again one or two times. IMG_1819 My kids don’t like raisins so I just throw a few in my own personal bowl but you can definitely bake this with raisins, if you like; or you can add them in after it’s all done baking if you want your raisins to stay nice and soft. IMG_1820 Pour the oil mixture over everything and then stir it well to combine. IMG_1822 Divide the granola between your two pans.

IMG_1824

We cook this granola low and slow to help prevent burning since we’re not stirring. Bake it in the oven for about 45 minutes on the middle rack. My kids don’t like raisins so I just throw a few in my own personal bowl but you can definitely bake this with raisins, if you like. Allow the granola to cool completely before stirring so that the clusters will hold better. Break up the granola and eat immediately or store in an airtight container on your pantry for a week or a couple of weeks in your fridge. IMG_1828 IMG_1858 IMG_1868 THE RECIPE:

Granola

*makes about 20 cups

12 c rolled regular oats
2 c crisp or puffed brown rice cereal (or puffed red wheat or kamut)
1 c ground flax (Costco has a big bag; refrigerate after opening)
2 c raw nuts, chopped (I like sliced almonds, cashews, pecans and walnuts)
1/2 c seeds, chopped (I like pepitas and sunflower seeds)
1 c shredded unsweetened coconut (found at health food stores or Winco)
3 Tbsp cinnamon (depending on how much you like cinnamon)
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg (optional)
1 c coconut oil (can do 1/2 olive oil or butter)
1 c honey (raw if possible)
1 Tbsp vanilla
1/4 c pure maple syrup
1 c raisins (optional)

Preheat oven to 250 degrees and line two large jelly roll pans (cookie sheet with edges), or a roaster pan with parchment paper. We cook this low and slow with no stirring, and the parchment keeps the granola from sticking to the pan.  In a medium saucepan over low-medium heat, combine oil, honey, vanilla, and syrup to melt together. Combine oats, flax, coconut, cereal, nuts, seeds, ground spices, and raisins(optional) to your large, parchment-lined, roasting pan (or just in a large mixing bowl if you don’t have a roasting pan) and mix together. Pour melted liquids over oat mixture and stir very well until thoroughly combined. Spread out in both pans and bake at 250 degrees for about 45 minutes or until golden brown. In order to get the crunchy granola clusters, we don’t stir the granola until it has cooked the entire 45 minutes AND you have allowed it to cool completely, at which time you can break up the granola into smaller clusters.  Store in an airtight container on pantry for a week or in fridge for a couple of weeks. Wonderful snack all on it’s own, also great served with plain greek yogurt sweetened with a little agave, or some almond milk. 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Granola

  1. Lani Olson

    I’ve been meaning to start making granola again, can’t wait to try this recipe! Thanks!

    >

  2. Pingback: Diet and Exercise | Real Foods Mom

  3. Pingback: Festive Whole Foods for Valentine’s Day | Real Foods Mom

  4. Pingback: Whole Wheat Waffles | Real Foods Mom

  5. Pingback: Top Ten, Family Favorite, Whole Food Recipes | Real Foods Mom

  6. Pingback: Daily Food Journal: 7 days | Real Foods Mom

Leave a Reply

