Plant-based protein choices

highproteinfood 

I found this excerpt below on Bob Harper’s website recently and liked it so much I wanted to post it here…he’s a personal trainer from the show ‘Biggest Loser’:

A lot of you have been asking me about plant-based protein.. So let me give you a breakdown of all my protein choices:

1. ALL kinds of beans (black, kidney, great northern, chick peas, black eyed peas, green peas, lentils, pinto beans, lima beans)**
2. Tempeh
3. Seitan
4. Tofu
5. Veggie burger**
6. Quinoa**
7. Oatmeal**
8. Brown rice**
9. Whole wheat bread**
10. Nuts**
11. Peanut butter**
12. Soy milk
13. Hemp Protein**
14. Green Pea Protein**
15. Brown Rice Protein**
16. Vegan Protein Powder**
17. Chlorella
18. Plenty of rich green leafy vegetables**

I put stars next to the protein choices I use regularly. Numbers 13-16 are in my vanilla protein powder. Some other protein choices my family use regularly are almond butter, pumpkin and sunflower seeds, hummus and whole grain pastas and crackers. And some vegetarian but non-vegan choices we use fairly regularly are eggs, cheese and greek yogurt, though I try and limit them to a couple of times a week. This chart tells you how many grams of protein in a serving:

visual-guide-to-plant-based-protein

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

