Honey Zucchini Bread

It has been awhile since my last post but for a good reason. We moved from Utah to Colorado! And have I mentioned we have five young children? And we were showing our home for a couple of months which meant it had to look perfect at all times IMG_9469which meant I couldn’t be making messes in the kitchen so we resorted to eating out a lot and eating a lot of fast cooking and easy clean-up meals like pasta with sauce out of a jar. I tried to keep it healthy, we chose sauces without a lot of additives and ate at Café Rio pretty frequently which has lovely salads and whole wheat tortillas, but I’m not gonna lie, it was a challenge and we definitely didn’t eat near as good as we normally do, for instance, we still had pizza once a week but I couldn’t do home-made pizza during that time because not only do I grind my own wheat and roll out dough and it’s a messy process, but it sits on the counter for hours. Anyway, we’re all settled now and I am so grateful to have a kitchen again that doesn’t have to look immaculate at all times and to have home cooked meals regularly! I have been excited to post on this food blog again (I managed to keep up on my family blog, but it wasn’t easy) and hope to get back into a somewhat regular schedule of posting.

Last week, a neighbor dropped by some tomatoes and a giant zucchini that she got from her father’s garden. We used to grow both of those things in our garden in Utah so when we saw that giant zucchini we knew just what to do! We peeled it, grated it with the tiny grater side of a cheese grater, and made zucchini bread! My kids love zucchini bread and it’s a great after school snack, and one I don’t feel guilty giving them because there is no sugar and no white flour! I also use applesauce in place of half of the coconut oil, though coconut oil in and of it self is great anyway.

Here is a picture with all the ingredients, including the zucchini already grated and in my glass measuring cup. You can make this recipe using all whole white wheat flour but I chose to use my ‘wonder flour’ this time around which is something Chef Brad came up with(he’s on BYUtv) which is basically equal parts brown rice flour, spelt flour and barley flour. I grind them up in my Nutrimill wheat grinder.

IMG_9463

Start off by preheating your oven to 350 degrees. Add all the liquids in your Bosch or large mixing bowl and mix them together. Melt the coconut oil in the microwave or on the stove first because it’ll form little solid clusters everywhere if you don’t. Coconut oil is different than other oils; if it’s above 76 degrees then it’ll be in liquid form, but if it’s cooler than that it’ll solidify. Because of this it’s also best to use room temperature eggs, and applesauce, though sometimes I forget to take them out early enough so I mix them in after I’ve warmed up and whipped together my honey and coconut oil. Then add the dry ingredients and pulse it a few times and it’s ready to go.

IMG_9464

Grease your 8×4 loaf pans, or mini loaf pans or muffin pans or bundt pan or whatever you choose, fill them a little over half way and stick them in your preheated oven. The larger loaf pans will cook about 45 minutes, and the mini loaf and muffin tins only go for about half that time.

IMG_9466

Insert a toothpick in the center to check for doneness. It should come out pretty clean.

IMG_9469

THE RECIPE:

Honey Zucchini Bread

3 eggs (free range)

1 c raw honey

½ c coconut oil, melted

½ c applesauce

1 Tbsp vanilla

2 c grated unpeeled zucchini

3 c wonder flour (equal parts spelt, barley and brown rice flour; or all whole white wheat flour)

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp sea salt

1 ½ tsp cinnamon

½ tsp nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 2, 8×4 inch loaf pans and a mini loaf pan or a 6 count muffin tin. Beat eggs; add oil, honey and vanilla. Add zucchini. Mix dry ingredients into wet. Bake 45 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Mini loaf pan and/or muffin tin will only bake for about half that time. Allow to cool in pan a few minutes before going around the edge with a knife and turning onto a cooling rack to cool completely.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Honey Zucchini Bread

  1. Glad you are back to blogging here- although I am amazed you could keep up on your family blog so well! Just a quick question- Is that 1 cup of honey? Thanks! My family loves zucchini bread, but it has tons of sugar, so I want to try this recipe.

Leave a Reply

