Glazed Maple Pecan Cookies

These cookies are amazing! Such a treat! I can only make them on very special occasions because I like them so IMG_7623much that I eat way too many. My family likes them too which is usually a good thing because they help eat them so I’m not eating all of them, but with these, I find myself hiding them :). Literally. My brothers would be proud :)! They still hide the guacamole from me whenever we make it out to WA for a visit, which is annually. These cookies are made with whole wheat flour and brown rice flour; no refined white flour! There is a little bit of evaporated cane juice which is a step up from the refined white stuff (this is just a little less refined which is why it’s the tan-ish color), but still sugar. And for the glaze, I put some of the evaporated cane juice into my high power blender and blended it until it became powder. I love that machine! If you don’t have a high power blender you can use regular powdered sugar, but remember, it’s a special treat :). IMG_7617Here are your ingredients. You’ll notice coconut sugar in the picture below and that’s because I blended it into a powder to put inside of the cookie, but then when I made the glaze for the top I made the powder with the evaporated cane juice. You don’t have to do that. It’s more work that way. You can use all one type of powdered sugar. But I wanted to so I did :). I grind my brown rice flour through my nutrimill first and then grind my white wheat flour since the wheat helps to clean it out. And the extract in the front of this picture is a maple extract. This one is called Mapleine.

IMG_7619I bake the cookies on parchment paper so they’re less likely to stick to the cookie sheet and fall apart. And it’s so easy to just slide that whole sheet onto the cooling rack to cool once they’re out of the oven. And clean up is such a cinch!

IMG_7621

Some of my kids didn’t want nuts on the tops of theirs, so I left a few for them. But see how many I get :). J/k, I’ll share one with my hubby. IMG_7623

THE RECIPE:

Glazed Maple Pecan Cookies

1 c whole wheat flour, lightly spooned into a measuring cup and leveled
3/4 c brown rice flour
1/4 c cornstarch
1 c butter, softened
1/4 c powdered sugar (I make this in my blendtec with evaporated cane juice or you make it w/coconut sugar since it’s not much and inside the cookie so the taste won’t be as strong as say, for a frosting)
1 egg yolk
1 tsp maple flavor
1 c finely chopped pecans, toasted (can do this on a pan over medium heat, stir constantly until nuts become fragrant, then remove from heat and allow to cool)
Glaze:1 Tbsp butter, melted
1 c powdered sugar (made from evaporated cane juice)
1 Tbsp real maple syrup
1-2 Tbsp milk
additional chopped pecans for garnish, if desired

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside. Whisk flour and cornstarch together in a small bowl and set aside. Mix together butter and sugars at medium speed in a large mixing bowl until creamy. Add egg yolk and maple flavoring beating until well mixed. Reduce speed to low and gradually add flour and cornstarch mixture and toasted pecans. Using a cookie scoop (or about 1 Tbsp if you don’t have one of those), make dough balls and place them on baking sheets and press down lightly with fingers until dough is about 1/2 inch thick. Bake 9-12 minutes until cookies puff and are very light golden brown. For the glaze: combine butter, powdered sugar, and maple syrup in a medium-sized mixing bowl. Add enough milk to make a glaze and whisk mixture until smooth. When cookies have cooled, spoon a little on the tops of cookies and with a circular motion use your spoon to bring the glaze out to the edges. Garnish with pecans if desired. Allow to cool.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Glazed Maple Pecan Cookies

  1. Thanks for the good food recipes. It is so hard these days to avoid the artificial without spending a lot.

  2. Pingback: Real Food Christmas Holiday Favorites | Real Foods Mom

Leave a Reply

