Pineapple Paradise

*Updated 1/29/13- finally got a chance to add pictures, almost a week later from when the post was put on here!

My kids are out of school this week and will be the following two weeks. Which means I have very little time for anything besides cooking, cleaning and playing/teaching/working with the kids. So little time that I didn’t have time to get pictures of this recipe, but it’s so simple and easy and one that I LOVE and make often so I’m going to share it anyway and I’ll try and remember to take pictures of it the next time I make it so I can add them to this post.

I love green smoothies. I drink them everyday and my hubby and 5 kids drink them daily as well…actually, Baby Nora doesn’t have some every day but sometimes she’ll drink off mine. Anyway, because we’ve had them most everyday for the past couple of years, I like to mix things up to make it a little different. This is one the whole family likes (I do make some that the family doesn’t like; like the ones with too much kale and not enough sweet fruit :)).

IMG_8104

IMG_8106

Here’s the recipe:

Pineapple Paradise10 oz water
4 oz 100% orange juice
2 Tbsp ground flax or chia seeds or oat groats(or any kind of oats: steel cut, rolled). Flax and Chia seeds are really high in omega fatty acids which is nice. And all of these make your smoothie more nutritious and filling.
3 handfuls of spinach
1 banana
1 c frozen pineapple chunks
1 c frozen strawberries
1-2 c frozen blueberries

Put water, orange juice, spinach, ground flax/chia seed/oat groats and banana in high power blender and blend until smooth. Add banana, pineapple, strawberries and 1 c blueberries and blend one cycle (about 50 seconds). Take a spoon out and try some. If it’s not sweet enough add 1 more cup blueberries. If you want it thicker(and colder), add a cup of ice and blend again. If smoothies are ever too thick, add some water or a little more juice, stir a couple of times and blend again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

