Berry Banana Smoothie

This past Saturday, my family and I participated in a family 5k. I ran and everyone else biked…well Jane and Annabelle(our 2 and 4 year old children) sat in the bike trailer my hubby Scott was pulling. It was hot that day. Like 100 degree hot. It wasn’t quite that hot at 8am when we did our run, but it was still pretty warm. My lips got burnt. I don’t like having burnt lips because my mouth and lips feel dry all day and I am always wanting something to cool me down. That night, once the kids had gone to bed, I threw together a really refreshing smoothie that just hit the spot. It was the perfect dessert for the end of a hot day. Light and cold.

Health benefits include, probiotics or good bacteria found in your plain yogurt, plus calcium and protein, and blueberries and strawberries have lots of vitamins. Blueberries are a good antioxidant (cancer fighting agent) and have a really low glycemic load. Strawberries are an excellent source of vitamin c and flavonoids.

Berry Banana Smoothie
makes about 32 oz

1/2 c plain yogurt
1/2 tsp vanilla
3/4 c 100% apple juice
1 banana
3/4 c frozen blueberries
2 c frozen strawberries (or can do a tropical blend like pineapple, strawberry, papaya, mango)

Add ingredients to high power blender in order listed and blend until smooth.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Smoothies

2 responses to “Berry Banana Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Festive Whole Foods for Valentine’s Day | Real Foods Mom

  2. Pingback: Home Made Microwave Popcorn | Real Foods Mom

Leave a Reply

