Fajitas

Summer is just around the corner, and it already feels like it here in Utah since we’ve had several 90 degree days. Our swamp cooler keeps our house pretty cool as long as it’s under 100 degrees and as long as you’re not using your oven when temperatures reach the 90’s. So for dinners in the near future, I’ll be doing a lot of stove top, crock pot and/or no-cook recipes. I actually prefer these in the summer anyway. Baked foods when you’re already feeling hot, does not sound great.

Being that I am part Mexican(my dad was born and raised in Mexico) and that my dad cooked Mexican food on a daily basis for our family, I have  a great love for Mexican food. I’ll usually cook Mexican food for our family once or twice a week, though I don’t cook everything my dad did, or at least not the same way. He made a lot of Mexican rice and refried beans, both of which use hydrogenated oils. I make both rice and beans regularly but I make brown rice and cook it in water with some cilantro, green chiles, an onion and a couple of spices. It’s really yummy! I also prefer whole, cooked beans. I really like black and pinto.  And remember my post about whole wheat home-made tortillas? Yeah, I’m obsessed with them even though I grew up on white flour tortillas.And guacamole! Oh how I love guacamole! My husband will sometimes hide it from me which I think is so not funny.

This fajita recipe combines all of those things. And the nice thing about that is all of these things can be made in advance, even several days in advance, whenever I have some time. When I make beans and rice, I make a lot and freeze them in bags, so that could even be done months before :). Then when we want to make fajitas, tacos, Mexican Pizza, or burritos, all I have to do is pull things out of the fridge(or freezer), warm them up and it’s all good!

In my fajita, I like to have black beans and a whole assortment of sauted veggies. Who knew you could have fajitas vegan style?! I add a little cheese to mine sometimes. Scott eats his like mine but will also add our Crockpot Mexican Chicken and he always has cheese. Then we top it off with some salsa and guacamole and have beans and rice on the side.

Get out your cooked rice, beans, and chicken, some cheese, veggies and home made tortillas. Warm up a little olive oil in a pan over medium heat and chop your veggies. You can cut them as big or as small as you’d like. I usually cut my onion into long thin slices and my bell peppers a little shorter. Sometimes I’ll throw in half of a zucchini or cucumber too that I’ve cut into smaller pieces. Cook those in the oil and with seasonings until they’re tender, about 5 minutes, while stirring occasionally.

Put your veggies, beans, chicken and cheese inside your home made tortilla(the tortilla really does need to be home made…SO much better!),wrap it up and serve it with your beans, rice, salsa and guacamole as sides.

THE RECIPE:

Fajitas

2 bell peppers(any color, with stem removed)
1/2 onion (any color)
1/2 cucumber or zucchini diced
1 Tbsp olive oil
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp minced garlic or garlic powder
Homemade Whole Wheat Tortillas
Mexican Chicken (optional)
1 c grated Cheddar Cheese (optional)
serve with: Guacamole, Black Beans, Mexican Brown Rice, Salsa

Chop all your veggies. In a stir fry pan or something similar, saute veggies in oil and seasonings for several minutes until crisp tender. Take out all the other ingredients you’ll be serving it with and any optional ingredients. Place veggies, a spoonful of black beans, and optional ingredients in your tortilla. Roll and top with salsa and guacamole. Serve with black beans and mexican brown rice on the side.

4 Comments

Filed under Dinner, vegan

4 responses to “Fajitas

  1. Pingback: Easy Slow Cooker Mexican Chicken | Real Foods Mom

  2. Angela

    Ah, so you figured out WordPress. How do you like it? I’ll have to bookmark this one. Always love getting your recipe’s.

  3. Pingback: Home-made Whole Wheat Tortillas | Real Foods Mom

Leave a Reply

