Home-made Whole Wheat Tortillas

The first question I asked myself after eating these tortillas is, where have they been all my life? Seriously, my dad is from Mexico and his family apparently always made their own tortillas. Why didn’t we? A good friend gave me a couple of whole foods recipes recently and this was one of them.

Backing up, Elisabeth(our 7-year-old) does not like store bought whole wheat tortillas. She always said she didn’t like quesadillas, but it turns out it was just quesadillas made from store bought whole wheat tortillas. Sometimes she’ll have a burrito if it has enough fillings inside so she can’t really taste the tortilla, but then she’ll always leave the ends where there isn’t much of anything else on it.

About a month ago, we went to Costa Vida for the first time and she ate a quesadilla and loved it. I asked her why she didn’t like my quesadillas and she said it was the tortilla. Now, back to the present. I made these whole wheat tortillas this week and had her try a bite. She loved it and in fact said, “Mom, these taste just like the ones from Costa Vida!” A HUGE compliment coming from her. And then she ate two quesadillas! And in fact, the whole family loved them which is also HUGE for us. Between the six of us, we don’t have very many dinner meals we ALL enjoy. I’m so happy to have found this recipe because I am a Mexican food lover and this will be very useful for my family.
Link
This recipe made 12. When I made it again I doubled it, though I only used 3/4 c oil rather than the full 1cup. They were pretty easy and probably took about 30 minutes to make, the longest part being the rolling out of the dough and cooking. The first time I made these I cooked them on my stove in a cast iron pan. Then I got smart and pulled out my large pancake griddle so I could roll out and cook four at a time which went much quicker. I cooked all of them at one time and then you can refrigerate or freeze leftovers, though I just left mine on our counter in a tupperware because I figured they’d get eaten up the next day, which they did. Here’s how you do it:

Get out a mixing bowl, preferably with a dough hook. I use my Bosch and have used a large mixing bowl with my hand mixer and dough hook attachment. They both work great. In the bowl add your 2 1/2 cups flour, oil, and salt. Mix together and then add 1/2c of your warm water. Mix again. You will slowly add more water as you beat until the dough is no longer dry, but not so wet that it’s sticky. I usually end up adding about 1 cup of water total. We don’t want sticky dough because it’ll stick to the counter and which will make you really frustrated when you’re trying to roll it out. If it does get sticky then mix it longer and if after a minute it’s still pretty wet you can add in a little more flour, a tablespoon at a time. Beat with the dough hook for a few minutes until it’s smooth. Scrape the sides as needed.

Take the dough out of the bowl and divide it into 8 equal sized pieces. I do this by dividing it into 2 pieces (just eye it) and then each of those into four parts.

Roll each piece into a ball and flatten it out on a baking tray/board/parchment paper. Cover with plastic wrap and let rest at room temperature for at least 15 minutes. While it’s resting, I like to take that opportunity to clean up the kitchen a little. Or you can rest too :).

Heat a cast iron skillet, griddle or 12-inch skillet over med to medium-high heat. I had my griddle on about 300 degrees. The pan should be fairly hot before you begin cooking the tortillas.

Roll each ball into a 8 to 10 inch circle(I find I don’t need any extra flour for rolling because of the oil in the dough).

Grease the pan with a touch of oil if needed(I didn’t do this on my cast iron or my griddle) and then carefully transfer each tortilla, one at a time, to the pan and cook until the outside edges look cooked, but the middle still looks a little under cooked; it’ll look like it’s moist, about 30 seconds per side. Set aside on a plate to cool slightly. Eat within a couple of days at room temperature, refrigerate or freeze.

2016-02-02 16.46.30

 

 

Try this recipe with my Fajitas or Layered Black Bean Enchiladas

Whole-Wheat Flour Tortillas- lightly adapted from 100 days of whole foods
yeild: 8 tortillas

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups whole-wheat flour

1/2 cup oil(I used olive oil…if you double this recipe, you only need 3/4 c oil)

1 teaspoon salt

2/3-3/4 cup warm water (heated in the microwave for 30 seconds)

In a large mixing bowl(or bosch), preferably one with a dough hook, pour in the 2 1/2 cups flour, oil, and salt(you can also use a hand held mixer with dough hook attachment). Combine and then add 1/2 c of  warm water. Mix again. You will slowly add more water as you beat until the dough is no longer dry, but not so wet that it’s sticky. I usually end up adding about 3/4 cup of water total; too wet means it’ll stick to your counter when you roll so add water until it’s no longer dry; you can add flour a tablespoon at a time if it gets too wet and sticky. Beat with the dough hook for a few minutes until it’s smooth. Scrape the sides as needed.. Beat about 3 minutes until smooth. Scrape the sides as needed.

Take out the dough and divide it into 8 equal sized pieces(depending on how big you want your tortillas). I do this by dividing it into 2 pieces (just eye it) and then each of those into four parts.

Roll each piece into a ball and flatten it out on a baking tray/board/parchment paper. Cover with plastic wrap and let rest at room temperature for at least 15 minutes or up to one hour.

Heat a pancake griddle to about 300 degrees(or in a skillet over medium heat). The pan should be fairly hot before you begin cooking the tortillas.

Roll each ball into a 8 to 10 inch circle. I find that I don’t need to add any extra flour when rolling because of the oil in the dough.

Transfer each tortilla, one at a time, to the pan/griddle and cook until bubbles start to form about 30 to 40 seconds per side. Set aside on a plate to cool slightly. Eat within a couple of days at room temperature, refrigerate or freeze.

3 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Lunch, vegan

3 responses to “Home-made Whole Wheat Tortillas

  1. Pingback: Fajitas | Real Foods Mom

  2. Pingback: Baked Taquitos | Real Foods Mom

  3. Pingback: Taco Salad | Real Foods Mom

Leave a Reply

