Whole Wheat Donuts

I like donuts. I have fond memories from my sophomore year in high school, when my brother and I, who was a senior, would occasionally stop by a local donut bakery after seminary(an early morning church class) and before school started. He always got a maple bar. I like maple bars too though my favorite were the old fashioned donuts. Now a days, having bakery donuts is rare for us, so this is a nice replacement. I love the cakiness of these donuts. And I love that these donuts have ground flax seeds which are composed of omega-3 essential fatty acids(good fats that have heart healthy effects), lignans which have plant estrogen and antioxidant qualities, and fiber.Here are your ingredients:

I buy both Sucanat( unrefined cane sugar;  you can use other granulated sugars as well) and flax seeds in the bulk section of health food stores(winco sells flax as well).

Grind up your flax seeds and whole white wheat if you haven’t already. I grind my flax in my Blendtec. If you don’t have a coffee grinder or high power blender, you’ll want to buy ground flaxseeds rather than whole flax.

Grab a medium or large mixing bowl and combine all your dry ingredients: flour, ground flax, sucanat, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon. Then add in your milk, eggs, butter, and vanilla.Whisk them all together and then pour them into a lightly greased donut pan. I use a mini donut pan and a normal size one. I’ll usually make 24 mini donuts and then about 4 larger ones. You’ll want to fill each cavity about two-thirds full. I used the teaspoon I was measuring with to fill my mini donut pan which made it easy and less messy. Stick them in your 325 degree preheated oven for about 8-10 minutes. After they’ve cooked, lightly touch the top of one, and if it springs back, it’s done.

Once the donuts are baked, allow them to cool for a few minutes and then take them out. You’ll want a fork, knife or rubber spatula to help get under one edge to pull it up, though they should still come up really easy.

Give them a few minutes to cool and in the meantime, pull out your 100% orange juice, honey and your optional coconut flakes.

Whisk together your honey(I warm it up for a few seconds in the microwave) and your orange juice in a shallow bowl.

Dip your donuts into the honey-orange glaze and then you can also dip them into unsweetened coconut flakes(buy at a health food store or Winco) spread out on a small plate, if you’d like. I usually do about half and half in coconut because although most of the members in my family love them with coconut, I have a couple who prefer them without.

THE RECIPE:

Whole Wheat Donuts– lightly adapted from Robyn Openshaw

Makes about a dozen large donuts or 30 mini donuts

2 c whole white wheat flour
1/4 c flax seeds, finely ground (you can purchase already ground or grind in high power blender or coffee grinder)
3/4 c Sucanat(unrefined cane sugar)
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp sea salt
2 eggs (organic and free-range), beaten
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp butter, melted
3/4 c milk (almond, rice or soy are good)

Glaze:
blend together with a spoon in a small, shallow bowl:
1/4 c raw honey, warmed
2 Tbsp 100% orange juice

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Lightly spray a donut pan with oil. Mix dry ingredients. Add wet ingredients and whisk until well blended. Fill each donut cavity two-thirds full. Bake 8 minutes or until tops spring back when lightly touched. Cool, then remove donuts from pan and dip into glaze. Optionally decorate with raw nuts or unsweetened coconut flakes.

Wipe pan clean with a cloth, then repeat the process.

2 Comments

Filed under Desserts

2 responses to “Whole Wheat Donuts

  1. WinCo sells sucanat now? All I’ve seen is demarara…

    • April, I apologize that my comment was unclear. Yes, you’re right, I don’t think winco sells sucanat. I usually get mine in the bulk foods section of Good Earth, though I’m guessing Whole Foods would have it as well.

Leave a Reply

