Taco Salad

I don’t use the oven as often in the summer. I like to have more cold, fresh meals. We threw together this taco salad a few weeks ago and loved it. I love that it doesn’t have meat but is still hearty with all the different beans. And I loved how quick and easy it was to put together. If you want to make it even quicker, keep shredded lettuce and chopped green onions on hand to toss in.

You can either use beans you’ve previously cooked, or you can just open some canned beans. I did both: I had some pinto beans in the fridge I’d cooked earlier on in the week that I threw in and then I used a can of kidney beans and a can of black beans.When you buy your canned goods, be sure to read the ingredients and choose the cans with the least amount of additives. And remember, if you can make it from scratch, cooking the beans yourself ahead of time, that’s always better than using it from a can. But sometimes, I run out of time and didn’t plan ahead so I make do. Just sayin….

Chop and rinse your lettuce,

cut the cheese into little 1/4-1/2” cubes,

Cut up green onions and dice up some tomato. Dump everything together in a large bowl and mix. I like to serve mine with a little salsa and sour cream for dressing, and if you have guacamole, add a scoop on top and it’s amazing!

THE RECIPE:

Taco Salad– by Elisa Smith

1 head Romaine lettuce, chopped and rinsed

4 green onions, diced

1 can(or 1 c cooked) black beans

1 can(or 1 c cooked) kidney beans

1 can(or 1 c cooked)pinto beans

1 can corn

1/2 beef tomato, chopped

Optional Toppings: Salsa, sour cream, tortilla chips, guacamole

Combine ingredients and toss. Add tortilla chips individually to plates so they don’t get soggy. We like to eat ours with quesadillas made from home made, whole-wheat tortillas.

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner, Lunch, Salads

One response to “Taco Salad

  1. Pingback: Baked Taquitos | Real Foods Mom

Leave a Reply

