Guacamole

I love guacamole. I grew up eating it fairly frequently. My four siblings and I would fight over guacamole (we still do, though in a more fun-loving way now…we’ll do things like hide it from each other in different spots in the house). I personally think that avocados in general are an amazing food. I love the creamy texture. It’s also a perfect food for babies with it’s high, good-fat content and a great filling snack for anyone.

To make guacamole, start by chopping your tomato, green onion, jalapeno, and cutting your avocado in half and scooping out the middle. I like to mash my guacamole in a saucepan for 2 reasons: First there is a handle you can hold while mashing and Second, you have a larger flat space in a saucepan compared to most mixing bowls which makes mashing the ingredients easier(I used a little bit of medium salsa this time around to spicen it up, in place of my jalapeno because Walmart was completely out of jalapenos!). Add in the salt, garlic, white pepper and lemon, mash it all together and it’s ready to eat!

Guacamole

3 ripe avocados, mashed

1 roma tomato, chopped fine

1 green jalapeno chopped fine (try half, if prefer foods mild. I completely omit this when I’m giving it to young children and babies…this makes a perfect maybe food with all of it’s good fats)

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp garlic powder or 1 clove garlic

pinch of white pepper

2 small green onions, chopped fine

1/4 squeezed lemon

optionally add 1 Tbsp mayo and 1 tsp parmesan cheese (mayo makes it creamier)

Mash all ingredients together and chill.

3 Comments

Filed under Snacks/Sides/Appetizers, vegan

3 responses to “Guacamole

  1. Pingback: Fajitas | Real Foods Mom

  2. Pingback: Lunch Boxes, Trays and Snack Ideas | Real Foods Mom

  3. Pingback: Mexican Quinoa Salad | Real Foods Mom

Leave a Reply

