Black Bean Quinoa Burgers

My seven and five year old kids love burgers. I don’t like doing meat very much so I went off in search of a veggie burger alternative. All four of our kids tried them and three of them finished the whole burger. My one year took the burger apart, took a bite of the bun, then a bite of the burger and then threw everything onto the floor. Not what I’d envisioned, but she does that more often than not so I shouldn’t have been too surprised. My seven year old daughter loves these burgers just as much as the meat burgers. My five year old son can easily tell the difference between the two and prefers meat burgers, but he likes these as well.

If you don’t have cooked quinoa lying around in your fridge already, go ahead and make some up in a pan with water and rinsed quinoa following the package directions(should take about 15 minutes). You’ll also need cooked black beans. If you don’t have any cooked already, grab a can of them out of your pantry because you won’t want to wait hours while they cook. While your quinoa is cooking, gather together all of your other ingredients. Chop up your bell pepper and onion(it doesn’t need to be finely chopped because you’re going to throw them in the blender in few minutes).

Saute your onion, garlic and peppers in oil until softened. You can use fresh garlic and chop it up with your veggies, or you can use the already minced kind like me. Add turmeric, cumin, and tomato sauce(or ketchup if you don’t have any) and cook for another minute.

In your high-powered blender or food processor, blend onion mixture, beans and quinoa until well blended.

Transfer all of your blended mix to a bowl and mix in your bread crumbs, salt, and pepper. (I usually use home made bread crumbs, which is bread I’ve dried in a 300 degree oven for about 20 minutes, but I realized at the last second I didn’t have any on this particular day so I went with plan B and used the store bought kind….don’t do it unless you have to because they have all sorts of additives)

Warm up a griddle or a pan on the stove. Take 1/4 c balls of the mixture, flatten them in your hands and place on the griddle. You can add a little olive oil to pan for more of a crispy texture.

Serve on whole-grain bread or bun with lettuce or sprouts, tomato, and avocado.

Black Bean and Quinoa Burgers-lightly adapted from Robyn Openshaw
1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 onion, chopped into several pieces
1 red bell pepper, chopped into several pieces, core removed and seeds thrown away
4 garlic cloves, pressed or minced
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp turmeric
2 Tbsp tomato sauce/paste or ketchup
1 1/2 c cooked black beans
1 c cooked quinoa
2 c fresh whole-grain bread crumbs
1 1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper

Saute onions, garlic and peppers in oil until softened. Add turmeric, cumin, and tomato sauce and cook for 1 minute, releasing the spices. In high-powered blender or food processor, blend onion mixture, beans and quinoa until well blended. Transfer to bowl and mix in bread crumbs, salt, and pepper.

Warm up a griddle or a pan on the stove. Take 1/4 c balls of the mixture, flatten them in your hands and place on the griddle. Add a little olive oil to pan for more of a crispy texture. Serve on whole-grain bread or bun with lettuce or sprouts, tomato, and avocado.
Tip: you can freeze these patties in freezer bags for a last-minute lunch

5 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Lunch, vegan

5 responses to “Black Bean Quinoa Burgers

  1. Pingback: Cooking Black and Pinto Beans | Real Foods Mom

  2. Pingback: Crock Pot Black Beans | Real Foods Mom

  3. eve hackett

    tried these. They are delicious!!

  4. Hello I am so delighted I found your website, I really
    found you by error, while I was searching on Aol for
    something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a marvelous post and a all round interesting
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it
    all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your
    RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to
    read more, Please do keep up the excellent jo.

Leave a Reply

